top of page
  • Writer's pictureYolanda McAdam

New Moon In Aries

Today’s New Moon in Aries is conjunct Chiron, the “wounded healer”. Chiron was a beloved teacher and healer. An immortal centaur (his father was Cronos/Saturn and his mother, Philyra was an ocean nymph) he was injured by mistake by Heracles when Heracles got into a fight with a bunch of rowdy, trouble-making centaurs. His injury caused unbearable pain so he gave up immortality in exchange for Prometheus’ freedom. This conjunction invites us to prioritize self-care and healing and since it’s the first New Moon of the astrological new year, you can bet this is the theme for the year ahead.

The moon is square the lunar nodes; an indication that these are fated times and that we have work to do. This is the time to go within and reflect on our wounds - psychological and physical. Real or imagined.

Most of our players are in Earth signs. Jupiter, Pluto and Mars are in Capricorn and Venus and Uranus are camping in Taurus. This is clearly reflected on a collective level as we continue to see the systematic breaking down of old structures that do not serve us as citizens and human beings but also continue to harm Mother Earth. On a personal level, this New Moon invites us to address our own psychological and spiritual “structures'' and to work on “renewing” ourselves.

Illness and pain are powerful teachers because nothing gets our attention quite like them. This pandemic has highlighted our interconnectedness and the universality of pain and suffering.

Aries is the sign of the individual. A reminder at this time that your choices as an individual impact others so when setting your intentions today, consider how you can bring more hope and light into the world.

Aries is also the sign of fresh starts and new challenges. At this time of social distancing and isolation, starting something new may feel counterintuitive to you but Aries season and the new moon urge us to take heart (coeur) and behave courageously. Dream a bigger dream.

David Whyte writes that “Courage is the heartfelt participation with life, with another, with a community, a work; a future. To be courageous is not necessarily to go anywhere or do anything except to make conscious those things we already feel deeply and then live through the unending vulnerabilities of those consequences.”

Make conscious those things you feel deeply.

Mercury (in Pisces) sextile Uranus (in Taurus) brings unexpected insights and out-of-the-box thinking today. And, Neptune in Pisces is in a dreamy and romantic aspect to Venus in Taurus that promises passion and creative inspiration. Follow your bliss!

Here is what to wish for according to your sun sign. If you are a sun sign, Aries, you can wish for anything as it’s your birthday season! If you know your rising sign (Ascendant) please read that too.

Remember to write out your intentions on paper. Do NOT use the word “WANT” or “NEED” or “DESIRE” in your intention-setting as these words will keep you in that state of want and need. Start each intention for example with “I see myself doing…..” or “I see myself being….”




Spirituality. Social service. Secret or behind-the-scenes work.


Friends and groups.


Career and reputation.


Education. Travel.


Shared resources, intimate unions.


Partnerships (Romantic & Business)


Work and health.


Pleasure and creative self-expression.


Home and family.


Communications. Siblings. Neighbours.


Money and possessions




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page